September 2022 | Facts and Info from the European Physical Society | e-EPS
Is this email not displaying correctly?
View web version

The former Zeeman laboratory
distinguished as an EPS Historic Site

The Netherlands Physical Society proudly announces the latest EPS Historic Site in the Netherlands: the former Zeeman laboratory in Amsterdam. On 25th May, Pieter Zeeman's birthday, the plaque on the building was unveiled by EPS Vice-President Petra Rudolf.

EPS Emmy Noether Distinction to María Pilar López Sancho

The EPS is happy to announce that the winter 2021 EPS Emmy Noether Distinction is awarded to María Pilar López Sanchofor her contributions to the understanding of the electronic structure of low-dimensional materials and in recognition of her continuous, tireless, and successful actions for the empowerment of women in physics.”

The Theodor von Grotthuss laboratory declared EPS Historic Site

On 2nd July 2022, Lithuanian enthusiasts of history of physics gathered in Žeimelis, Lithuania, where the first EPS Historic Site in the three Baltic states was inaugurated.

EPS NPD Lise Meitner Prize 2022

The Nuclear Physics Division of the European Physical Society is delighted to announce that the winner of the 2022 Lise Meitner prize is Prof. Phil Walker (University of Surrey).

The prize is given every two years for outstanding work in the fields of experimental, theoretical or applied nuclear science.

EPS Citizen Science Competition

Help us support researchers in the fields of High Energy Physics and Gravitational Wave Astronomy to optimize their detectors and to make groundbreaking new discoveries!

Take part to a competition supported by the EPSREINFORCE EU, FRONTIERS EU and the Ellinogermaniki Agogi.

Deadline 30th September.

Trans-Atlantic Partnership for Enhancing Scientific Careers in Developing Countries

The APS, the EPS and the UNESCO-ICTP, in honour of the International Year of Basic Science for Sustainable Development, announce the initiation of the joint APS-ICTP-EPS Travel Award Fellowship Programme (ATAP).

Mat-Light 4.0

The project Mat-Light 4.0 was launched at the University of Haute-Alsace in Mulhouse on 6th September. It will promote the activities of the campus, especially in the field of photopolymers, and run from 2022 to 2032.

The EPS will contribute to this project in communication campaigns and help with its expertise in publishing. 

EPS PPD Hannes Alfvén Prize 2023 - Call for nominations

The 2023 round of nominations for the EPS PPD Alfvén Prize is open. 

Deadline for nominations is 4th November, 2022 (23:59 CET).

Initiatives to support Ukrainian scientific community

The European and international scientific community is working together to take appropriate actions to support the Ukrainian scientific community that are facing exceptional challenges due to the current war situation in the country. Here is an update of the initiatives.

Report on the BP11 Congress held in Belgrade

The 11th Conference of the Balkan Physical Union (BPU11 Congress) was held in Belgrade, Serbia, from 28th August to 1st September 2022.

Most of the sessions were held in the beautiful building of the Serbian Academy of Sciences and Arts – SASA, in downtown Belgrade.

EPS NPD PhD best thesis award 2021

The Nuclear Physics Division of the EPS has decided to award the 2018-2021 PhD Prize jointly to:
- Dr. Giuliano Giacalone
- Dr. Jonas Karthein
- Dr. Ágota Koszorús.

Institute of Physics appoints new CEO

The Institute of Physics (IOP) has appointed Tom Grinyer, currently group chief executive of the British Medical Association (BMA), as the new CEO of the IOP Group.

He took over from Professor Paul Hardaker in June.

Kavli Prize Award Ceremony 2022

The ceremony for the Kavli Prizes 2022 took place on 6th September 2022 in Olso.

The EPS President Luc Bergé was invited to attend the event.

See photos from the Award Ceremony here.

IAEA Marie Slodowska-Curie Fellowship

The 3rd IAEA Maria Sklodowska-Curie Fellowship Programme (MSCFP) application period is open.

Deadline for applications: 30th September 2022.

Ursula Keller receives Swiss Science Prize Marcel Benoist

The physics professor Ursula Keller has received the Swiss Science Prize Marcel Benoist for her pioneering work in ultrafast lasers. Her theoretical models and experimental discoveries have repeatedly tested the boundaries of ultrafast laser physics.

Ursula Keller is an EPS Fellow.

Events and dates

71th Annual Meeting of the the Austrian Physical Society ÖPG
The 71st Annual Meeting of the Austrian Physical Society will take place in Leoben at the Montanuniversitaet Leoben.

Dresden will host the Nuclear Physics in Astrophysics Conference in 2024 (NPA2024).

Thessaloniki will host the Applied Nuclear Physics Conference in 2024 (ANP2024).

EPN 53-4

Subscribe to receive e-EPS in your mailbox! | Unsubscribe here | View it in your browser
Copyright © 2022 e-EPS archives | Published by the European Physical Society